ASJA 2017 Annual Writers Conference
 

More Panels, More Editors, More Content, More Networking! 
We've been nonstop adding value. Please keep checking back for more details!

ASJANext Books & Beyond
Fast Connections Pitching
Plenary Sessions Pro Tips
Work Life Pivot 

Friday, May 5, 2017
Breakouts
Breakouts - Early Risers [More Info]
Breakouts - Early Risers Short Sessions [More Info]
7:30 am - 8:00 amF01 - New Member Welcome [More Info]
Karen Kroll, @KarenKroll
7:30 am - 8:00 amF02 - How to Give a Killer Presentation [More Info]
Frieda Wiley, @Frieda_Wiley
7:30 am - 8:00 amF03 - Emerging Contract Issues Every Writer Needs On Their Radar [More Info]
Milton Toby, @milttoby
7:30 am - 8:00 amF04 - Behind Your Science Writing Pitch [More Info]
Ankita Rao, @anrao
8:00 am - 9:00 amF05 - Shaping Your Brand, New Strategies for Writing Consultants [More Info]
Rae Padilla Francoeur, @RaeAF
Joan Price
Lisa Kosan
Jennifer Gaie Hellum, @jghellum
8:00 am - 9:00 amF06 - Turn Your Online Blog Into a Profitable Print Column [More Info]
Frank Hyman
8:00 am - 9:00 amF07 - Subject Area Roundtables [More Info]
8:00 am - 9:00 amF09 - Your Head in the Digital Clouds: Writing About Technology [More Info]
Steve Tally
Nicholas Thompson
9:00 am - 9:45 am
K01 - Keynote: Shedding A Light on Untold Stories [More Info]
Speaker: Vanessa Hua, @Vanessa_hua
10:00 am - 11:00 am
F08 - Interviewing for Story [More Info]
Laura Laing, @MathforGrownups
Katherine Reynolds Lewis
Rae Gomes
10:00 am - 11:00 am
F10 - I'm Baaaack: Reviving a Mute Muse or Stalled Career [More Info]
Lindsey O'Conner, @LindseyOConner
Julie Patrick-Barnhill, @JulieBarnhill
10:00 am - 11:00 am
F11 - The 80/20 Rule for Freelance Writing Success [More Info]
Bob Bly
10:00 am - 11:00 am
F12 - When Deadlines Loom: Fast Fixes to Get Your Work Out the Door [More Info]
Mary-Kate Mackey, @marykatemackey
10:00 am - 5:00 pmMembers Lounge Open
11:15 am - 12:15 pmBreakouts
11:15 am - 12:15 pm
F13 - Writing Book Proposals with Teeth: Insider Secrets from Agents [More Info]
Rita Rosenkranz
Roger Williams, @publishliterary
11:15 am - 12:15 pm
F14 - Harnessing the Power of LinkedIn [More Info]
Kate Paine, @kpaine66
11:15 am - 12:15 pm
F15 - Negotiating 101 for Writers: You Deserve It, Learn to Ask for It! [More Info]
Gwen Moran, @gwenmoran
Michelle Rafter, @MichelleRafter
Devon Smiley, @DevonMSmiley
11:15 am - 12:15 pm
F16 - Food Writing Pitch Slam [More Info]
Marie Elena Martinez, @mariesworlds
Kat Kinsman, @kittenwithawhip
Max Falkowitz, @maxfalkowitz
Jameson Fink, @jamesonfink
Julia Westbrook
Jeanette Hurt
12:15 pm - 1:30 pmLUNCH ON YOUR OWN -- Networking lunches
1:45 pm - 2:30 pm
K02 - Keynote: Advice from the Hollywood Book Whisperer: Sell Your Story in a Single Sentence [More Info]
Speaker: Lane Shefter Bishop, @LaneShefterBish
2:30 pm - 5:30 pmCLIENT CONNECTIONS [More Info]
2:45 pm - 3:45 pmBreakouts
2:45 pm - 3:45 pm
F17 - Ghostwriter for Hire: The Six Strategies to a Six-Digit Income [More Info]
John Peragine, @johnpwriter
2:45 pm - 3:45 pm
F18 - Using Smartphones To Tell Stories [More Info]
Dan Q. Dao, @danqdao
Coleen Jose, @coleenjose
Barclay Palmer, @BarclayPalmer
Dorri Olds, @DorriOlds
2:45 pm - 3:45 pm
F19 - Facebook Live and Beyond: The Future of Author Promotions [More Info]
Lisa Sharkey, @lisasharkey
4:00 pm - 5:30 pmBreakouts
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm
F20 - Build Your Platform: The Making of a Bestseller [More Info]
Laurie Abkemeier, @laurieabkemeier
Jennifer Keishin Armstrong, @jmkarmstrong
Tim Harper, @harpertim
Jonathan Karp, @simonbooks
Leah Johanson, @leahjohanson
Karyn Marcus, @kmarc40
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm
F21 - Build Your Platform: How are You-Dot-com Doing? Is it Time for a Website Overhaul? [More Info]
Eyal Solomon, @solomon_eyal
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm
F22 - Build Your Platform: How to Get Noticed on Social Media [More Info]
Nicole Feliciano, @momtrends
5:30 pm - 7:30 pmAwards Presentation and Cocktail Reception [More Info]
 
Saturday, May 6, 2017
8:00 am - 9:00 amBreakouts
8:00 am - 9:00 am
S01 - Emerging Contract Issues Every Writer Needs On Their Radar [More Info]
Milton Toby, @milttoby
8:00 am - 9:00 am
S02 - Tackling Tough Topics [More Info]
Candy Arrington, @CandyArrington
Dorri Olds, @DorriOlds
Rudri Patel, @BeingRudri
Sharon Van Epps, @sharonvanepps
8:00 am - 9:00 am
S03 - Productivity Boosters: Free Up 20 Hours a Month (240 a Year) [More Info]
Sandra Yin, @Project_Otter
8:00 am - 9:00 am
S04 - How to Get Accepted into ASJA (And Improve Your Career at the Same Time) [More Info]
Jennifer Goforth Gregory, @ByJenGregory
8:00 am - 9:00 am
S05 - How to Pitch a Hit [More Info]
Estelle Erasmus, @EstelleSErasmus
9:00 am - 9:45 am
K03 - Keynote: Pivot: The Only Move that Matters is Your Next One [More Info]
Speaker: Jenny Blake, @jenny_blake
9:30 am - 5:00 pmMentoring Sessions
10:00 am - 11:00 amBreakouts
10:00 am - 11:00 am
S06 - How to Write an Irresistible Nonfiction Book Proposal [More Info]
Phil Sexton, @psexton1
10:00 am - 11:00 am
S07 - The Journalist as Content Marketer: What You Need to Know [More Info]
Anthonia Akitunde, @anthoniaa
Joe Hebert, @jhbrt__
Amy Klein, @amydklein
Anne Miller, @annemillermedia
Cam Brown, @Cambrown1
10:00 am - 11:00 am
S08 - ASJA Award Winners: How to Make an Impact [More Info]
Beverly Gray, @Bev_Movieland
Apoorva Mandavilli, @apoorva_nyc
Gary Ferguson, @GaryAFerguson
Susan J. Gordon
Sharon Guynup, @sguynup
10:00 am - 11:00 am
S09 - Elevating Your Personal Narrative: From the Confessional to the Universal [More Info]
Lilly Dancyger, @lillyodonnell
10:00 am - 11:00 am
S10 - Women's Magazine Editors Tell All [More Info]
Kelly K. James, @kellyjamesenger
Lynya Floyd, @lynyafloyd
Jill Herzig, @JillatOz
Susan Spencer
Carol Brooks, @carolbrooks7
10:00 am - 5:00 pmMembers Lounge Open
11:15 am - 12:15 pmBreakouts
11:15 am - 12:15 pm
S11 - The Agents Roundtable [More Info]
Minda Zetlin
Heather Flaherty, @heddaflaherty
Liza Fleissig, @LizaRoyceAgency
Kim Perel, @Iglabooks
Katharine Sands
11:15 am - 12:15 pm
S12 - How to Create the Ultimate Profitable Side Hustle [More Info]
Damon Brown, @browndamon
Diana Burrell, @dianaburrell
Linda Formichelli, @LindaHappyFit
Kelly K. James, @kellyjamesenger
11:15 am - 12:15 pm
S13 - How to Write from Personal Experience [More Info]
Nancy Davidoff Kelton
11:15 am - 12:15 pm
S14 - Subject Area Roundtables [More Info]
Ilan Greenberg, @eggopolis
Keith Wallman, @KeithWallman
Julie Gribble, @JulieGribbleNYC
Lisa Marie Basile, @lisamariebasile
Michael Fitzgerald, @riparian
Michele Wojciechowski
11:15 am - 12:15 pm
S15 - Writing About Parenting: Editors Tell All [More Info]
Sumitha Bhandarkar, @afineparent
Candy Schulman, @candyschulman
Marcelle Soviero, @msoviero
Jennifer Reitman, @JenniferReitman
Amy Joyce, @amyjoyce_berg
12:30 pm - 2:00 pmLUNCH ON YOUR OWN -- Networking lunches
1:30 pm - 2:15 pm
K04 - Keynote: The WOKE and Sustainable Writer [More Info]
Speaker: Andrea King Collier, @andreacollier
2:30 pm - 3:30 pmBreakouts
2:30 pm - 3:30 pm
S16 - The A-Z of Putting Together an Anthology [More Info]
Sherry Amatenstein, LCSW, @sherapynyc
Cathi Hanauer, @cathihanauer
Joanna Volpe, @JoSVolpe
Elisabeth Dyssegard
2:30 pm - 3:30 pm
S18 - From Hot Topics to the Today Show: Tips from a PR Pro [More Info]
Beth Feldman, @rolemommy
2:30 pm - 3:30 pm
S19 - Going Off the Grid [More Info]
Andrea King Collier, @andreacollier
2:30 pm - 3:30 pm
S20 - The Pitch [More Info]
Randy Dotinga
Heather Flaherty, @heddaflaherty
Liza Fleissig, @LizaRoyceAgency
Kim Perel, @Iglabooks
Katharine Sands
2:30 pm - 3:30 pm
S22 - Finding and Working With Diverse Writers: Editors Share Experiences [More Info]
Lottie Joiner
Emma Carew Grovum, @emmacarew
Kevin Nguyen, @knguyen
Estelle Tang
Vera Papisova, @verapapisova
3:45 pm - 5:15 pmBreakouts
3:45 pm - 5:15 pm
S17 - 50 Steps to Make the Leap from Blogger to Paid Freelance Writer [More Info]
Susan Maccarelli, @BeyondYourBlog
3:45 pm - 5:15 pm
S21 - The Buzz on Book Publishing (Multicultural and Other Trends) [More Info]
Susan Shapiro, @susanshapironet
Alvina Ling, @planetalvina
Les Fabian Braithwaite
Ryan Harbage
Beena Kamlani
Rakia Clark
Eli Reyes
Dawn Michelle Hardy
3:45 pm - 5:15 pm
S23 - What Top Assigning Editors Want You to Know [More Info]
Cindy Kuzma
Richard Eisenberg, @richeis315
Jessica Leigh Hester, @jessicahester
Margaret Guroff, @powermobydick
Katie Neal, @katiedneal
Elisabeth Garber-Paul, @elisabethgp
Michael Fitzgerald, @riparian
Sarah Todd, @SarahLizChar
3:45 pm - 5:15 pm
S25 - The Art of the Ask [More Info]
Laura Fredricks, @expertontheask
5:20 pm - 5:45 pm
Closing Remarks
6:00 pm - 8:00 pmASJA Industry Reception [More Info]
REGISTER NOW!

New Registration