

DARTMOUTH, NS, April 8, 2015 - RTDNA Canada, The Association of Electronic Journalists, is pleased to recognize excellence in electronic journalism in the Atlantic Region.

RTDNA Canada Awards honour the best programs, stations and news gathering organizations in radio, television and digital. "These awards are named after pioneers and innovators of our industry, and some of them were the founders of our association more than fifty years ago," said RTDNA Canada President Ian Koenigsfest. "We're pleased to continue celebrating excellence in electronic and digital journalism. Our founders would be proud of the quality of award winning local news coverage today."

Here are Your Nominees:

Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature - Radio - Small/Medium Market

- CBC Radio New Brunswick
- CBC Prince Edward Island
- Dave Rogers Award Long Feature TV Small/Medium Market
 - CTV Atlantic
 - CBC Nova Scotia
- Dave Rogers Award Short Feature Radio Small/Medium Market
 - CBC Nova Scotia
 - CBC Prince Edward Island

Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature - TV - Small/Medium Market

- CBC Nova Scotia
- CBC Prince Edward Island
- CTV Atlantic
- Adrienne Clarkson Award Diversity Radio
 - CBC Halifax
- Adrienne Clarkson Award Diversity TV
 - CTV Atlantic
 - CBC Prince Edward Island
 - CBC Newfoundland & Labrador
- Dan McArthur Award In-depth/Investigative Digital Media
 - CBC News New Brunswick
 - CBC Prince Edward Island
 - CBC Nova Scotia
- Dan McArthur Award In-depth/Investigative Radio
 - CBC Nova Scotia
 - VOCM News
 - CBC Newfoundland & Labrador
- Dan McArthur Award In-depth /Investigative TV
 - CBC Prince Edward Island
 - CBC Nova Scotia
 - CBC Newfoundland & Labrador

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage - Digital Media

- CBC Newfoundland & Labrador
- CBC New Brunswick

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage - Radio

• CBC Prince Edward Island



- CBC New Brunswick
- Ron Laidlaw Award Continuing Coverage TV
 - Global News
 - CBC Nova Scotia
- Charlie Edwards Award Spot News Radio
 - VOCM News
 - CBC Moncton
 - CBC Prince Edward Island
- Charlie Edwards Award Spot News TV
 - NTV
 - Global News Halifax
 - CBC New Brunswick

Dick Smyth Award - Creative use of Sound - Radio

- CBC Cape Breton
- Hugh Haugland Award Creative use of Video TV
 - CBC Nova Scotia
 - CTV Atlantic
 - Global News Halifax
- Sports Award TV Small/Medium Market
 - NTV (CJON)
- Digital Media Award Digital Media
 - Global News
- Gord Sinclair Award Live Special Events Radio
 - News 95.7
 - VOCM News
- Gord Sinclair Award Live Special Events TV
 - CTV Atlantic

Peter Gzowski Award - News Information Program - Radio

- CBC St. John's Newfoundland
- News 95.7
- CBC Moncton
- Trina McQueen Award News Information Program TV
 - CTV Atlantic
 - CBC Nova Scotia
- Byron MacGregor Award Best Newscast Radio Small Market
 - 989XFM
 - CBC Prince Edward Island
- Byron MacGregor Award Best Newscast Radio Medium Market
 - News 95.7
 - VOCM News
 - CBC Nova Scotia

Bert Cannings Award - Best Newscast - TV - Medium Market

- CBC Newfoundland & Labrador
- CTV Atlantic
- CBC New Brunswick



Lifetime Achievement Award Winners:

Gerry Phelan (formerly with Newcap) Mike Cameron - CTV Atlantic

RTDNA Canada is the voice of electronic and digital journalists and news managers in Canada. The members of RTDNA Canada recognize the responsibility of broadcast journalists to promote and to protect the freedom to report independently about matters of public interest and to present a wide range of expressions, opinions and ideas. The RTDNA Canada Code of Ethics, adopted by the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council, is used to measure fairness and accuracy in our profession.

-30-

For more information, contact Yuliana Tjie at (437) 836.3088 or <u>admin@rtdnacanada.com</u> or lan Koenigsfest, President, RTDNA Canada at (604) 331-2790 or <u>president@rtdnacanada.com</u>