ASJA 2016 Annual Writers Conference
 

This is the Working Schedule for the event. Please check back for more details!


Track 1 - Business Management 

05/20/2016
8:30 am - 9:15 amWelcome and Keynote [More Info]
Laura Vanderkam, ASJA, @lvanderkam
9:30 am - 11:00 amBreakouts
9:30 am - 11:00 am
F01 - Snagging Funding From Alternative Sources [More Info]
Jane Sasseen
John T. Trigonis, @Trigonis
Michael Shapiro, @shapiromichael
Esther Kaplan, @estherbrooklyn
9:30 am - 11:00 am
F02 - Managing Your Finances — and Your Clients [More Info]
Jen Miller, ASJA, @byjenamiller
Jennifer L.W. Fink, ASJA Board, @jlwf
Kim Cross
Ace Callwood, @acecallwood
Diana Y. Grenier
9:30 am - 11:00 am
F03 - The Journalism of Ideas: Crafting Smart, Provocative Stories for Elite Publications [More Info]
Patchen Barss, ASJA, @patchenbarss
Kevin Berger, @NautilusMag
Julia M. Klein, ASJA, @JuliaMKlein
James Marcus, @jamesamarcus
Genevieve Smith, @gvsmith
9:30 am - 11:00 am
F04 - 50 Ways to Tell A Story: How to Develop Fresh Angles [More Info]
Sherry Beck Paprocki, ASJA Vice President, @SherryPaprocki
Emily Paulsen, ASJA, @eapwriter
Lottie Joiner, @LottieJoiner
Tanya Hall, @TanyaHall
10:00 am - 5:00 pmMembers Lounge Open [More Info]
11:15 am - 12:45 pmBreakouts
11:15 am - 12:45 pm
F05 - Number One With a Bullet: True Crime Authors on Hitting the Top [More Info]
Randy Dotinga, ASJA President, @rdotinga
Barbara Gray, @barbgray
Robert Kolker, @bobkolker
Paula Uruburu
Karen Branan
11:15 am - 12:45 pm
F06 - 168 Hours In a Week: How to Manage & Maximize Your Time [More Info]
Theresa Sullivan Barger, ASJA, @TheresaSB
Laura Vanderkam, ASJA, @lvanderkam
Stephanie Vozza, ASJA, @StephanieVozza
Laura Shin, @laurashin
11:15 am - 12:45 pm
F07 - Make More Money with Your Content Marketing [More Info]
Kate Silver, ASJA, @k8silver
Courtney Colwell, @courtneycolwell
Alli Manning, @AlliLady
Katie Morell, ASJA, @katiemorell
Jessica Patel, @jmappellejpatel
Sarah Chazan, @BrazenChazan
11:15 am - 12:45 pm
F08 - Pitch Slam: Travel Writing [More Info]
Lynn Freehill-Maye, ASJA, @LynnMarieFree
David Dudley, @dccdudley
Jamie Beckman, @jamiebeckman
Annie Daly, @anniemdaly
Anne Banas, @AnneBanas
12:45 pm - 2:00 pmLUNCH ON YOUR OWN -- Networking lunches
2:00 pm - 3:30 pmBreakouts
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
F09 - Getting Personal: Writing Essays From The Heart [More Info]
Bob Brody, ASJA, @BobLBrody
Ada Calhoun, @adacalhoun
Phillip Lopate
Pamela Paul
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
F10 - Feel the Fear And Work It [More Info]
Warren Brown
Leigh Glenn, ASJA, @LeighGlenn77
Sue Klavans Simring
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
F11 - Light It Up: Energizing Long-Form Narratives [More Info]
Katia Bachko, @katiabachko
Steven Beschloss, ASJA, @stevenbeschloss
Christopher Johnston, ASJA
Tim Harper, ASJA, @harpertim
David Biello, @dbiello
2:30 pm - 5:30 pm
CLIENT CONNECTIONS [More Info]
3:45 pm - 5:15 pmBreakouts
3:45 pm - 5:15 pm
F12 - So You Want to Be a Bestselling Novelist [More Info]
Diane O'Connell, ASJA, @WriteToSell
3:45 pm - 5:15 pm
F13 - Disconnect: Improving Concentration & Creativity in a Hyperconnected Age [More Info]
Damon Brown, ASJA Board, @browndamon
Rae Padilla Francoeur, ASJA, @RaeAF
Susan Isaacs, @susanisaacsny
Jordan Teicher, @JordanTeicher
3:45 pm - 5:15 pm
F14 - Phone It In: Reporting (Even Better) With Your Mobile [More Info]
Tim Harper, ASJA, @harpertim
Sandeep Junnarkar, @sandeep_NYC
5:30 pm - 7:00 pmAwards Presentation and Cocktail Reception [More Info]
 
05/21/2016
8:30 am - 9:15 amWelcome and Keynote [More Info]
Josh Levs, @joshlevs
9:30 am - 5:00 pmMentoring Sessions
9:30 am - 10:45 amBreakouts
9:30 am - 10:45 am
S01 - ASJA Award Winners: From Pitch to Publish [More Info]
Beverly Gray, ASJA Board
Kim Cross
Paula Ganzi Licata, ASJA
Linda Marsa, ASJA
Eugene Meyer, ASJA
9:30 am - 10:45 am
S02 - Six-Figure Freelancing in 2016 [More Info]
Damon Brown, ASJA Board, @browndamon
Kelly James-Enger, ASJA, @kellyjamesenger
Wendy Helfenbaum, ASJA, @WendyHelfenbaum
Jodi Helmer, ASJA, @helmerjodi
9:30 am - 10:45 am
S03 - Blogging Isn't Dead: How to Attract Readers and Media with a Rule-Breaking Blog [More Info]
Joan Price, ASJA, @joanprice
9:30 am - 10:45 am
S04 - Conference Success Stories: Making Great Connections Here [More Info]
Cindy Kuzma, ASJA, @cindykuzma
Joanne Y. Cleaver, ASJA, @jycleaver
Juliette Fairley, ASJA, @JulietteFairley
Victoria Finkle, ASJA, @VictoriaFinkle
Stacee Reicherzer, ASJA, @drstacee
Arlene Weintraub, ASJA, @arleneweintraub
9:30 am - 10:45 am
S05 - How to Crack Content Marketing [More Info]
Debbie Abrams Kaplan, ASJA, @KaplanInk
Kathy Sena, ASJA, @kathysena
Sarah Cavicchi, @scavicchi
Andrew Wiecek
10:00 am - 5:00 pmMembers Lounge Open [More Info]
11:00 am - 12:30 pmBreakouts
11:00 am - 12:30 pm
S06 - No More Lip Service: Diverse Voices, Diverse Clients, and a Better ASJA [More Info]
Damon Brown, ASJA Board, @browndamon
Randy Dotinga, ASJA President, @rdotinga
Steven Gray, @StevenGray
Lottie Joiner, @LottieJoiner
11:00 am - 12:30 pm
S07 - You've Got It! Building Up Your Writer's Confidence [More Info]
Sherry Amatenstein, ASJA, @sherapynyc
Amy Ferris, @amyferris
Jesse Kornbluth, @jessekornbluth
Daniel Paisner, @danielpaisner
Michele Filgate, @readandbreathe
Kamy Wicoff, @SheWritesDotCom
11:00 am - 12:30 pm
S08 - Freelance Forever: Keeping Secure and Prosperous Later in Your Career [More Info]
Gina Bruce, @ginabruce
Deborah Gaines, ASJA, @debgainesassoc
Everett Potter, @everettpotter
Richard Eisenberg, ASJA, @richeis315
11:00 am - 12:30 pm
S09 - Boost Your Success with Coaches, Mentors, and Classes [More Info]
Laura Amann, ASJA, @laura_amann
Janine Latus, ASJA Board, @JanineAuthor
Lynya Floyd, @LynyaFloyd
Caitlin Kelly, ASJA, @CaitlinKellyNYC
11:00 am - 12:30 pm
S10 - Outperform and Buy: Business Writing Pitch Slam [More Info]
Laura Shin, @laurashin
Bourree Lam, @bourreelam
Laura Lorber, @lauralorber
Scott Olster, @scottolster
12:30 pm - 2:00 pmLUNCH ON YOUR OWN -- Networking lunches
2:00 pm - 3:30 pmBreakouts
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
S11 - The Art of the (New) Book Proposal [More Info]
Jeanette Hurt, ASJA, @ByJeanetteHurt
Leah Spiro
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
S12 - Balancing Act: How to Pursue Passion Projects and Big Payouts [More Info]
Dawn Reiss, ASJA, @DawnReiss
Megy Karydes, ASJA, @megy
Christine Giordano, @chrisgiordano
Jennifer Margulis
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
S13 - Indemnity Clauses and Who Really Owns Your Notes: Legalities That May Shock You [More Info]
Joan M. Burda, ASJA, @joanmburda
Kim Kavin, ASJA
Milt Toby, ASJA Board
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
S14 - The Latest Social Media Tricks: What Works, Whats a Turnoff [More Info]
Dorri Olds, ASJA, @DorriOlds
Estelle Erasmus, ASJA, @EstelleSErasmus
Sacha Z. Scoblic, @sachaZee
Marcelle Soviero, @msoviero
Russell D. Bernstein, @bullytalks1
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
S15 - Pitch Slam: Women's Magazines [More Info]
Jen Ator, @jen_ator
Lynya Floyd, @LynyaFloyd
Beth Tomkiw
Jodi Helmer, ASJA, @helmerjodi
3:45 pm - 5:15 pmBreakouts
3:45 pm - 5:15 pm
S16 - Self-Publish (and Market) Your Book the Smart Way [More Info]
Miral Sattar, ASJA, @miralsattar
Sheryn MacMunn, @SherynMacMunn
Dan Smith, @SmithPublicity
3:45 pm - 5:15 pm
S17 - Build Your Networks: Teach Writing or Editing [More Info]
Phil Sexton, @psexton1
Candy Schulman, ASJA, @candyschulman
Estelle Erasmus, ASJA, @EstelleSErasmus
Janice Eidus, @JaniceEidus
Leigh Stein, @rhymeswithbee
Sherry Amatenstein, ASJA, @sherapynyc
3:45 pm - 5:15 pm
S18 - Sree's Tech Tips: Sneaky New High-Tech Reporting Tools [More Info]
Sree Sreenivasan, @sree
Tim Harper, ASJA, @harpertim
3:45 pm - 5:15 pm
S19 - Freelancing for the New Generation: How to Go Solo Younger [More Info]
Kira Peikoff, ASJA, @KiraPeikoff
Noah Davis, @noahedavis
Jacqueline Detwiler, @jacquidetwiler
Susan Johnston Taylor, ASJA, @UrbanMuseWriter
Cady Drell
Patti Greco
3:45 pm - 5:15 pm
S20 - Health & Medical Writing, No Science Degree Required [More Info]
Patchen Barss, ASJA, @patchenbarss
Jane Langille, ASJA, @janelangille
Maureen Salamon, ASJA, @maureensalamon
Marijke Vroomen Durning, ASJA, @marijked
5:30 pm - 7:00 pmCocktail Reception