Family Philanthropy Network webinar
Mae Hong
Vice President
Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors
Mae opened the Chicago office of Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors in 2009 and is responsible for serving individual donors, families, foundations and corporations throughout the Midwest. In addition to providing high-touch, custom services to help clients manage their charitable giving, develop effective strategies, and discover joy in their philanthropic journey, she is also a frequent speaker and writer about issues, trends, and ideas in philanthropy. With a deep knowledge of major giving trends, Mae advises clients on best practices to create innovative funding programs or initiatives. With nearly 20 years of nonprofit and philanthropy experience, she previously served as Program Director at the Field Foundation of Illinois. Her funding expertise includes children, youth and families; poverty alleviation; women and girls’ issues; and advocacy. She has also been actively involved in Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors' leadership on the issue of diversity in philanthropy. Prior to entering the nonprofit sector, she worked in the publishing industry for several years. Mae currently serves as the board chair of Illinois Humanities. She completed her graduate work in social service administration at The University of Chicago, and is a graduate of Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism. Mae is a serious shoe collector.
Kate Frykberg
Philanthropy and Community Advisor
Te Muka Rau
Kate is an independent philanthropy consultant, manages her own small family philanthropy, holds governance roles on a number of other philanthropic trusts and social enterprises, and is a regular blogger on philanthropic and community issues. Kate’s previous roles include Executive Director of the Todd Foundation and Chair of Philanthropy NZ. Her background prior to working in philanthropy was in IT and entrepreneurship; highlights include co-founding one of NZ's first Internet Development companies, receiving the ASB Business Woman of the Year award and being awarded the NZ Order of Merit.