Higher Education Conference 2018
New Registration
Tell a Friend

Registration Fees:

Two Day Conference (28 February - 1 March) - EARLY BIRD - $1910


Two Day Conference (28 February - 1 March) - STANDARD RATE - $2165


Additional Events (registration for events are required)

Welcome Reception (included in 2 day Registration ONLY)

National Press Club Address  ($90)

Conference Dinner ($160)

Breakfast Address ($50)

Tech-EX - FREE

Universities Australia is the national peak body representing Australia's 39 comprehensive universities. Delivered by the sector for the sector, the Higher Education conference is the annual signature event on the Australian higher education calendar attracting more than 900 delegates.  Participants include Vice-Chancellors, Chancellors, senior university representatives, Government representatives, industry representatives, members of our research community, international education specialists, media and those with an interest in higher education.

The 2018 conference theme - Future Fundamentals - will have speakers exploring the fundamental role of universities in teaching, learning and research as they reinvent themselves in a new political, economic and technological environment.

The conference features an exceptional lineup of keynote speakers including: 

  • Mr Bruce Reed, Co-Chair of the Aspen Institute Future of Work Initiative
  • Professor Genevieve Bell, College of Engineering and Computer Science, ANU
  • Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte, Chief Scientifis Advisor, UK Ministry of Defence, Former Director of the Centre for Translational Data, The University of Sydney
  • Dr Alan Finkel AO, Australia's Chief Scientist
  • The Hon Simon Birmingham MP, Minister for Education & Training
  • Professor Margaret Gardner, Chair, Universities Australia
  • Professor Ian Williamson, Pro-Vice-Chancellor & Dean of Commerce, Victoria Business School, Victoria University, Wellington
  • The Hon Tanya Plibersek MP, Deputy Leader of the Opposition and Shadow Minister for Education and Training
  • Dame Anne Glover, Vice Principal, External Affairs & Dean for Europe, University of Aberdeen
  • Mr Ahmed Fahour, Former Managing Director and Group CEO, Australia Post
  • Professor Glyn Davis, Vice-Chancellor, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Ian O'Connor, Vice-Chancellor and President, Griffith University
  • Ms Jean Kittson, Actor, Comedian, Author, Public Speaker and Commentator
This high-calibre program continues into the concurrent sessions with the following speakers confirmed:
  • Professor Barney Glover, Vice-Chancellor and President, Western Sydney University
  • Professor Tim Brailsford, Vice-Chancellor and President, Bond University
  • Professor Eeva Leinonen, Vice-Chancellor, Murdoch University
  • Professor John Dewar, Vice-Chancellor and President, La Trobe University
  • Mr Anthony McClaren, CEO, TEQSA
  • Mr Sam Watson, Head of Global Infrastructure and Government, National Australia Bank
  • Professor Beverley Oliver, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education), Deakin University
  • Professor Suzi Derbyshire, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching), Queensland University of Technology
  • Professor Jonathan Powles, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic), The University of New England
  • Professor Marcia Devlin, Associate Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education), RMIT University
  • Professor Steven Larkin, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Education and Research), The University of Newcastle
  • Professor Andrew Taggart, Provost, Murdoch University
  • Professor Joanne Wright, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), The University of Queensland
  • Dr Vianne Timmons, President & Vice-Chancellor, University of Regina and Chair of Universities Canada International Committee
  • Professor Mike Woods, Professor of Health Economics UTS Business School; Independent Reviewer, COAG Health Council Accreditation Systems Review
  • Ms Jennifer Nobbs, Executive Director of Activity Based Funding, Independent Hospital Pricing Authority
  • Mr Iain Watt, Pro Vice-Chancellor (International), The University of Western Australia
  • Mr Laurie Pearcey, Pro Vice-Chancellor (International), UNSW Sydney
  • Ms Stephanie Faye, CEO, Austrade
  • Mr Warwick Smith AM, LLB, Senior Managing Director, International and Institutional Banking, ANZ Bank
  • Dr Kirrilee Hughes, CEO, AFS Australia
  • Ms Louise Pollard, 2017 Equity Fellow, The University of Western Australia
  • Ms Lucy Mercer-Mapstone, PhD Candidate, The University of Queensland
  • Mr Philip Marcus Clark AM
  • Mr Don Knapp, CEO, Australian University Sport

For further information please contact Marni Tebbutt, Events Manager, Universities Australia at events@universitiesaustralia.edu.au or 02 6285 8116. 

Share this event on your social networks: