Judging Process 

The judging process is rigorous and thorough to ensure that all the entries receive full consideration and that the true winners are chosen.

Service provider categories will be judged by a panel of experienced risk managers and captive owners.  Captive owner and individual award categories will be judged by a panel of industry practice leaders.  Categories will be judged through a combination of online scoring and conference calls.

Judges have discretionary power to move submissions into alternative categories that they think may be more suitable. All judges are required to sign a disclaimer form to keep information about entries and the final winners confidential.

The judges are carefully selected for their wealth of experience and expertise, as well as their absence of conflicts of interest.

PLEASE NOTE: Judges do not judge any categories that their company has been entered in and are obliged to declare that they have no conflicts of interest prior to judging.

Judging Panel 2017 

This year we have been joined by a host of expert judges. The judges have been divided into two groups - Captive Owner judges and Captive Industry judges

Captive Owner Judges 

Carl Leeman, chief risk officer, Katoen Natie
Julia Graham, deputy CEO & technical director, Airmic
Phil Clark, director of insurance, Vodafone
Tracey Skinner, director - insurance & risk financing, BT Group
Helen Stack Petit, group insurance manager, Nexans
Laurent Nihoul, general manager – corporate risk and insurance, ArcelorMittal
François Beaume, director, risk and insurance, Bureau Veritas
Gerjan Delhaas, captive and finance manager insurance, AkzoNobel
Gordon Dewar, managing director, Salvation Army General Insurance Company
Benjamin Wegener, risk manager, Deutsche Bahn
Oliver Shestopal, global head of insurable risk alignment, HSBC
Michael Davison, risk manager – Europe, Middle East, Russia & Turkey, Cummins
Pascal André Prévost, deputy risk manager, Nestlé
Angela Iannetta, group head of risk and insurance, British American Tobacco
Holger Kraus, risk financing and strategy, Siemens Financial Services
Alf Ottar Lysberg, VP insurance risk management, Orkla
Santiago Gómez, head officer/CFO, KOT Insurance Company
Anita Svendsen, VP insurance, Statnett
Sonia Cambier, global head of insurance & prevention, captive director, Solvay
Matthew McEwan, director risk management, Coca Cola Enteprises
John Morrey, managing director, Builders Group
Andy Hulme, chief underwriting officer, Builders Group

Captive Industry Judges 

Paul Wöhrmann, head of captive services, Zurich Insurance Company
Clive Hassett, head of captive fronting & multinational services, CHUBB
Salil Bhalla, head of complex multinational accounts UK, AIG
Lorraine Stack, managing director, Marsh Captive Solutions
Matthew Latham, head of captive programmes, XL Catlin
Malcolm Cutts-Watson, managing director, Cutts-Watson Consulting
Fabrice Frère, managing director, Aon Global Risk Consulting 
David Lewis, director of development | Europe, Willis Towers Watson