2019 NAMI National Awards Nomination Form
Recognizing individuals and organizations for their outstanding work in furthering the goals of NAMI's mission to improve the lives of people affected by mental illness.


To submit a nomination:

  1. Click on "Login" above.
  2. Click on "New User, Click Here."
  3. Create a profile and login.
  4. Click on "Submissions" and "Add New."
  5. Complete the nomination form. If you are unable to finish in one sitting, be sure to click on "Save and Continue Later" in order to return. 
  6. SAVE OFTEN as you complete it as well.
  7. Click "Save and Submit" to submit once you have completed all of the required information.

NAMI National Convention Awards

Distinguished Service Award - This award is given in recognition for exceptional efforts to further NAMI's goal of improving the lives of people living with mental illness. Recognizes a leader outside the NAMI family who works ardently and effectively in their efforts.

Lionel Aldridge Champions Award - Recognizes an individual living with mental illness who exhibits courage, leadership and service in their work to promote recovery and ensure that all people living with mental illness live full lives in their communities.

Multicultural Outreach Award - Honors effective efforts to ensure that diversity and inclusion are high priorities within NAMI.

NAMI Young Leader Award - Recognizes a young adult between the ages of 16-30 who exhibits exceptional leadership, increases resiliency, promotes recovery and works to ensure that young people living with mental illness live full lives in their communities.

Outstanding NAMI Member Award - The highest honor given by NAMI to a member in recognition of long and effective work toward accomplishing NAMI's goals.

Richard T. Greer Advocacy Award - Recognizes leadership and vision in advocacy efforts on behalf of individuals living with mental illness and their families.

Rona and Ken Purdy Award to End Discrimination - Honors an individual or organization that has done significant work in raising public awareness about mental illness and reducing stigma.

Sam Cochran Criminal Justice Award - Given in recognition of outstanding work within the criminal justice system to deal fairly and humanely with people living with mental illness.

Joyce Burland Inspiration Award - Recognizes a NAMI staff or volunteer who has demonstrated creativity, dedication and resourcefulness to offer or expand NAMI's national education programs. The awardee should be an inspiration to families, individuals with a mental health condition or the general public through their work with NAMI programs. 

Exemplary Psychiatrist Award - The Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards program allows NAMI members, NAMI State Organizations and NAMI Affiliates throughout the country to honor the exceptional contributions that many psychiatrists make to improve the lives of people living with mental health conditions.  

Outstanding NAMI Affiliate Award - The Outstanding NAMI Affiliate Award recipient must demonstrate exceptional leadership, strong community presence, outreach to diverse communities and continuing progress on carrying out the NAMI mission as defined by the NAMI Standards of Excellence. Affiliates who met the Dec. 31st, 2018 re-affiliation deadline are eligible for this award. Affiliates can self-nominate for this award.

Awardees will be recognized at the 2019 NAMI National Convention in Seattle, June 19 - 22, 2019. A complimentary convention registration is provided. For a list of past recipients, visit NAMI Awards.

Please contact convention@nami.org with any questions.